At least 17 states have enacted rules to curb the number of opioid analgesics doctors can prescribe. Some—including Arizona, Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, New Jersey, and Ohio—have passed laws limiting the duration of initial opioid prescriptions to 5 or 7 days. Others are passing dosage limits. In Kentucky, a law went into effect last month capping opioid prescriptions for acute pain to 3 days. CDC last year issued guidance for providers, recommending shorter durations for opioid prescriptions, stating that 3 days should be sufficient and a course of more than 7 days "will rarely be needed." According to a CDC study, patients who use such drugs for longer periods of time are more likely to end up addicted to them. Sens. John McCain (R-AZ) and Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) introduced federal legislation in April to limit an initial opioid prescription to 7 days. It would not apply to the treatment of chronic pain, cancer, hospice or palliative care. Some physicians have concerns with the new state laws. In Connecticut, doctors worried that a law limiting initial opioid prescriptions to 7 days would be overly prohibitive, said David Emmel, chair of the Connecticut State Medical Society's legislative committee. But now that the regulations have been in place for about a year, doctors have adapted to the rules, which Emmel said are "not horrifically restrictive."